top of page

Autumn Birds


This is my first experience working with felt and I think I'm going to like it! Spotted rolls and rolls of colours in the craft store and I honestly couldn't resist buying some to try my hands on (always wanted to, felt crafts are so cute!).

So, here is a guide to making some autumn birds. You can add them to your living room, or bedroom by the window. You can also use them as ornaments for your Christmas tree :)

If you like my birds but feel lazy to follow the guide, you can always visit my store and buy some at jaidasjoyfulcrafts.littlemajlis.com

Skill level: absolute beginner!

You will need:

Felt, 5 squares size 18x18 cm (handwashable), choose degrees of yellow and orange

Bird template, download here

Pinking shears (Zig zag scissors)

Thin ribbons for hanging

Sewing machine

Sewing needle

Threads of colours matching with felt

Pins

Fiber filling (for batting)

Step 1: Attach template and felt with pins, using pink shears cut around the bird (make 2), then cut around the wing (make 1).

Step 2: hand sew the eye using black thread, then hand sew the wing using thread colour of choice.

Step 3: machine or hand sew the ribbon to the inner side of the bird's back layer.

Step 4: You can either use a sewing machine to attach the two body layers together, or hand sew them. My first trial was sewing machine and I will try to sew by hand in the next project.

Make sure you leave part un-sewn so that you can fill your bird ornament with fiber stuffing, then continue sewing it till the end.

tip: I used a chopstick to fill the tiny unreachable edges with stuffing.

This is how your bird ornament will look like:

I used different colours on the front and back layers of the bird's body.

You can always decorate your birds with beads and buttons, the possibilities are endless.

Enjoy crafting! :)

Copyright notice: No pattern or other material may be reproduced — mechanically, electronically, or by any other means, including photocopying — without written permission of Dina Farid. This applies to all content on Jaida's Joyful Crafts, all free patterns, all patterns for sale on Little Majlis, and all other content.

Please do not email a copy of the pattern you downloaded, copy a pattern (or part of a pattern) and publish it on another website or in other publication. Instead, you can publish a link to the pattern.

You may sell your finished crocheted items, but not the pattern.

I will appreciate it much if you give credit to my pattern if you intend to share your finished work on social media.

When in doubt, ask me. If you are not sure whether you will be infringing upon copyrights, then feel free to send me an email (jaidasjoyfulcrafts@gmail.com) to ask. I’ll be happy to answer your questions.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Search By Tags
bottom of page